Yasujiro Ozu

Discussion and info on people in film, ranging from directors to actors to cinematographers to writers.
zedz

Ozu Yasujiro

#1 Post by zedz » Tue Nov 02, 2004 3:37 pm

Ozu Yasujiro (1903-1963)

I formulated my own directing style in my own
head, proceeding without any unnecessary
imitation of others... for me there was no
such thing as a teacher. I have relied
entirely on my own strength.

Filmography

Days Of Youth / Wakaki Hi (1929) Panorama

I Graduated, But . . . / Daigaku wa deta keredo (1929)

A Straightforward Boy / Tokkan Kozo (1929)

Walk Cheerfully / Hogaraka ni Ayume (1930)

I Flunked, But . . . / Rakudai wa shita kerodo... (1930)

That Night's Wife / Sono yo no tsuma (1930)

The Lady and the Beard / Shukujo to Hige (1931)

Tokyo Chorus / Tokyo no Gassho (1931) Eclipse

I Was Born, But . . . / Umarete wa Mita Keredo... (1932) Eclipse

Where Now Are The Dreams Of Youth? / Seishun no Yume Ima Izuko (1932)

Woman Of Tokyo / Tokyo no Onna (1933)

Dragnet Girl / Hijosen no Onna (1933) Panorama

Passing Fancy / Dekigokoro (1933) Eclipse / Panorama

A Mother Should Be Loved / Haha o kowazuya (1934) incomplete Panorama

Story Of Floating Weeds / Ukigusa Monogatar (1934) Criterion / Panorama

An Inn In Tokyo / Tokyo no Yado (1935) Panorama

Kagamijishi (1935)

The Only Son / Hitori Musuko (1936) Panorama

What Did The Lady Forget? / Shukujo wa Nani o Wasuretaka (1937) Panorama

Brothers And Sisters Of The Toda Family / Toda-ke no Kyodai (1941) Panorama

There Was A Father / Chichi Ariki (1942) Panorama

Record Of A Tenement Gentleman / Nagaya Shinshi Roku (1947) Panorama / Tartan

A Hen In The Wind / Kaze no Naka no Mendori (1948) Criterion / Panorama

Late Spring / Banshun (1949) Criterion / Tartan

The Munekata Sisters / Munekata Shimai (1950)

Early Summer / Bakushu (1951) Criterion / Tartan

The Flavour Of Green Tea Over Rice / Ochazuke no Aji (1952) Tartan

Tokyo Story / Tokyo Monogatari (1953) Criterion / Tartan